Accountabilities of members of the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board (NSSCB)

The North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board (NSSCB) is created under the Children Act 2004.  It is the statutory body in the local authority area with lead responsibility for meeting one of the Government's key objectives for children as set out in the guidance under the Children Act 2004, that of 'Staying Safe'.  This includes prevention of significant harm or the risk of significant harm, as well as the wider remit of ensuring that every child's welfare is both promoted and safeguarded.  In doing so, it will also contribute to the other four of the Government's key outcomes for children, which are:

  • Being Healthy
  • Enjoying and Achieving
  • Making a Positive Contribution
  • Achieving Economic Well-Being

Members of the NSSCB are accountable for the following:

  • ensuring that the statutory functions of the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board are implemented and its objectives achieved
  • ensuring that the 'duty to co-operate' is understood and acted upon within own agency
  • ensuring that all staff within their organisation who have contact with chilren are aware of their reponsibilities and are supported to comply with child protection policies and procedures and carry out any designated role
  • actively support the work of the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board within own organisation
  • contribute to the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board either financially or in kind
  • open organisational practice to scrutiny.

Responsibilities of Members of the NSSCB Business Committee and Sub Groups

  • Be an active partner in safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children
  • Contribute to quality assurance arrangements
  • Provide management information to the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board as required
  • Share information to safeguard children in accordance with the North Somerset Safeguarding Board's Information Sharing arrangements
  • Identify and support staff to participate in the inter-agency activities of the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board  (eg: policy development, scrutiny of practice, training, serious case review, practice development, new initiatives)
  • Ensure that the policies and procedures of the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board  are disseminated in an effective way within their organisation and acted upon
  • Represent the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board and its activities within their own organisation
  • Report difficulties within their own organisation and between organisations to the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board and work with partners to find effective solutions
  • Promote Local Practice Groups as a means of encouraging an effective inter-agency local network and shared understanding.

North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board Members

Main Board Membership and Terms of Reference

Please click here for the Terms of Reference for the North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board (terms of reference are currently being refreshed).
  • Tony Oliver, (Independent Chair)
  • Sheila Smith, Director, People and Communities, North Somerset Council (Vice-Chair)
  • Anna Curvan, Independent Lay Member
  • Pam Pollard, Independent Lay Member
  • Anne Ray-Rowley, Interim Chair of Communications Sub-Group
  • Cara MacMahon, CEO, Voluntary Action North Somerset (VANS)
  • Caroline Hostein, Head of St Francis Primary School
  • Carolyn Hills, Learning and Development, North Somerset Council and representative of Training and Development Sub-Group
  • David Jones, Adult's Support and Safeguarding, North Somerset Council
  • Duncan Stanway, Barnados
  • Eifion Price, Children's Support and Safeguarding, North Somerset Council
  • Helen Richardson, Director of Nursing, WAHT
  • Jackie Milton, Chair of QA Sub-Group
  • Jacqui Chidgey-Clark, Director of Nursing and Quality North Somerset CCG
  • Jo Baker, Strategic Safeguarding and Quality Assurance, North Somerset Council
  • Jo Ware, Acting Border Force Senior Officer
  • John Wells, Head Teacher, Clevedon School
  • Jocelyn Grimwood, Chair of Policy and Procedures Sub Group, NS Community Partnership
  • Lara Anderson, Named Nurse for Child Protection, Weston General Hospital
  • Liz Spencer, National Probation Service
  • Mark Dean, Named Nurse for Child Protection, AWP
  • Mary Lewis, Director of Nursing and Quality NS Community Partnership
  • Mike Rees, Youth Offending Service, North Somerset Council
  • Mike Pimm (Dr), NHS UK
  • Neil Liddington, Avon Fire and Rescue
  • Peter Brandt, BGSW Probation
  • Richard Williams (Dr), Designated Doctor
  • Ruth Sutherland, Chair of SE/Missing Sub-Group
  • Sadie Hall, Chair Early Help Sub-Group
  • Sarah Windfield, UH Bristol Weston
  • Sarah Thompson, Great Western Ambulance Service
  • Sophia Tuplin, Young Person's rep to the Board and Vice Chair of Young Person's sub-group
  • Shelley Caldwell, Principal Social Worker, North Somerset Council
  • Susan Masters, Head of Safeguarding/Designated Nurse, North Somerset CCG
  • Suzanne Howell, Managing Director, Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership
  • Tina Robinson, Chief Inspector, Avon and Somerset Police
  • Victoria Penaliggon, Children and Family Court Advisory Services (Cafcass)
  • Nicholas Rudling, NHS, England South (South West)
  • Participating Observer

    • Cllr Jan Barber, Executive Member, Children and Young People's Services 
    • ­

    Legal Adviser to the Board

    • Lorraine Sherman, Solicitor, North Somerset Council



      Quick Links
      Board Partners


      North Somerset Clinical Commissioning Group logo

      NSPC Health

      NHS England logo


      NHS England logo


      © 2017 North Somerset Safeguarding Children Board Mediatopia: A web design, development and hosting company based in Bristol